SLS Logo

Honorary Members

Honorary Members

Any person who has in times past been engaged in law teaching and/or legal scholarship in Great Britain or Ireland, any person who is or has been so engaged in other countries, and any person interested in legal education who shall have conferred important benefits on the Society or on legal education, by pecuniary gifts or otherwise, may be invited by the Council to become, and shall on giving her or his consent become, an Honorary Member of the Society. Honorary members shall not be called upon for any subscription, but they shall have no voting rights in any society affairs, although they shall be entitled on the same terms as an ordinary member to attend the society’s annual conference and other activities promoted by the society.

Current Hon Members

The Rt Hon The Baroness Hale of Richmond DBE, FBA
The Rt Hon Lord Hope of Craighead KT, FRSE
The Rt Hon Lady Justice Arden DBE
Professor Sir John Baker QC, FBA
Justice Aharon Barak 
Rt Hon Lord Justice David Bean 
The Hon Mr Justice Beatson FBA
The Rt Hon Sir Roy Beldam 
The Rt Hon Lord Borrie QC
Sir Nicholas Bratza 
Justice Stephen G Breyer 
The Rt Hon Sir Henry Brooke 
The Rt Hon Lord Brown of Eaton-Under-Heywood 
The Rt Hon Lord Browne-Wilkinson 
The Rt Hon Baroness Butler-Sloss GBE
The Rt Hon Sir Richard Buxton 
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Carnwath CVO
The Rt Hon The Lord Carswell 
The Rt Hon The Baroness Clark of Calton 
The Rt Hon Lord Clarke of Stone-cum-Ebony 
The Rt Hon Lord Collins of Mapesbury FBA
Rt Hon Lord Coulsfield 
The Hon Mr Justice Cranston FBA
The Rt Hon Lord Cullen of Whitekirk 
The Hon Mrs Justice Dobbs DBE
The Rt Hon Lord Eassie 
The Rt Hon Sir David Edward KCMG, QC, PC
The Rt Hon Dame Sian Elias GNZM
Justice Aryhur Emmett 
The Rt Hon Lord Falconer of Thoroton 
The Rt Hon Sir Peter Gibson 
The Rt Hon Lord Gill 
The Rt Hon Lord Goff of Chieveley DCL, FBA
Sir Christopher Greenwood CMG, QC
The Hon Anthony Gubbay 
Dame Rosalyn Higgins DBE, QC, FBA
The Rt Hon Lord Hoffmann 
Sir Anthony Holland 
The Rt Hon Professor Sir Francis Jacobs KCMG, QC
The Rt Hon Lord Judge of Draycote 
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Kay 
The Hon Ronan Keane SC
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Keene 
Sir Kenneth Keith KBE
The Rt Hon Lord Kerr of Tonaghmore 
The Hon Justice Michael Kirby AC, CMG
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Laws 
Sir Thomas Legg KCB, QC
The Lord Lester of Herne Hill QC
The Rt Hon Lord Mackay of Clashfern KT
Judge Paul Mahoney 
The Rt Hon Lord Mance 
Sir Roy Marshall 
The Rt Hon Lord Justice May 
The Rt Hon Beverley McLachlin PC
The Rt Hon Lord Millett 
The Rt Hon Sir Robert Morritt CVO
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Mummery 
The Rt Hon The Lord Mustill FBA
The Rt Hon Lord Neill QC
The Rt Hon Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury 
The Rt Hon Lord Nicholls of Birkenhead 
Judge Siofra O'Leary 
The Rt Hon The Lord Oliver of Aylmerton 
The Rt Hon Lord Philips of Worth Matravers 
The Rt Hon Sir Mark Potter 
The Rt Hon Lord Reed 
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Rix 
Dr Mary Robinson 
Justice Albie Sachs 
The Rt Hon Lord Saville of Newdigate 
The Rt Hon Baroness Scotland QC
The Rt Hon Lord Scott of Foscote 
The Rt Hon Sir Stephen Sedley 
Mr Mark Sheldon 
The Rt Hon The Lord Steyn 
The Rt Hon Jack Straw MP
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Sullivan 
Professor D Tallon 
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Thorpe 
Judge Christopher Vajda 
The Rt Hon Lord Walker of Gestingthorpe 
The Rt Hon Sir Nicholas Wall 
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Ward 
The Hon Mr Justice Wilkie 
Rt Hon Lord Wilson 
Mr Philip Wood QC
The Rt Hon Lord Woolf 


The Hon Judge Learned Hand 
The Hon Mr Justice O W Holmes 
Sir Carleton Allen MC, QC, FBA
Sir William Anson Bt
The Rt Hon Lord Atkin FBA
The Rt Hon Lord Bingham of Cornhill KG
 T H Bischoff 
Dr Edward Bramley 
Professor Heinrich Brunner 
The Rt Hon Lord Bryce OM
The Hon A v de S Centlivres 
The Rt Hon Arthur Cohen KC
Professor P Collinet 
The Rt Hon Lord Cooke of Thorndon KBE ONZ
The Rt Hon Lord Cooper OBE
The Rt Hon Sir Zelman Cowen AK GCMG GCVO QC
The Rt Hon Lord Cozens-Hardy 
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Danckwerts 
Professor Rene David 
Professor Fernand de Visscher 
The Rt Hon Lord Denning OM
Sir David Derham KBE, CMG, MBE (Mil)
Professor A V Dicey KC
His Honour H C Dowdall QC
The Rt Hon Lord du Parcq 
The Rt Hon Lord Edmund-Davies 
 T O Elias 
The Rt Hon Chief Justice Evatt 
The Rt Hon Lord Evershed 
The Hon Mr Justice Farwell 
Sir James Fawcett DSC
The Hon Mr Justice Frankfurter 
The Rt Hon Lord Fraser of Tullybelton 
The Rt Hon Sir Edward Fry GCB
Professor P F Girard 
Professor Henry Goudy 
The Rt Hon Lord Greene OBE, MC
Dean Erwin N Griswold 
Dean Erwin N Griswold 
Sir Maurice Gwyer GCIE , KCB, KCSI, QC
The Rt Hon Viscount Haldane of Cloane KT, FRS
The Rt Hon Viscount Hanworth 
Sir Courteney P Ilbert GCB
Sir Jack Jacob QC
Professor Edward Jenks FBA
Professor L Julliot de la Morandiere 
The Rt Hon Earl Kilmuir GVCO
Professor Edouard Lambert 
The Rt Hon Bora Laskin 
The Rt Hon Sir Frederick Lawton 
Professor Henri Levy-Ullman 
The Rt Hon Lord MacDermott 
The Rt Hon Lord Mackenzie Stuart 
The Rt Hon Lord Macmillan GVCO
The Rt Hon Lord Macnaghten GCMG
Dr F A Mann QC
Sir William Markby KCIE
Dr F Marx 
The Rt Hon Lord McNair CBE, QC, FBA
The Rt Hon Lord Normand 
The Rt Hon The Earl of Oxford and Asquith KG
The Rt Hon Christopher Palles 
The Rt Hon Lord Parker of Waddington 
Sir George Paton 
The Rt Hon Sir Frederick Pollock Bt, KC
The Rt Hon Lord Porter GBE
Professor Roscoe Pound 
Professor Sir John Rankine KC
Professor Salvatore Riccobono 
The Rt Hon Lord Rodger of Earlesferry FBA
Senator Elihu Root 
The Hon Sir John Salmond 
The Rt Hon Viscount Sankey GBE
The Rt Hon Lord Scarman 
Professor Austin W Scott 
The Rt Hon Sir Leslie Scott 
The Rt Hon Lord Slynn of Hadley 
The Hon Sidney E Smith QC
The Hon Sir David Smith (New Zealand) 
Field Marshal the Right Hon J C Smuts OM, CH, KC, FRS
The Rt Hon Louis St Laurent QC
The Hon Chief Justice Stone 
The Rt Hon Viscount Sumner GCB
The Rt Hon Lord Taylor of Gosforth 
The Rt Hon Lord Uthwatt 
The Hon Arthur T Vanderbilt 
Professor Geheimrat von Gierke 
Professor Sir William Wade QC, FBA
Sir Robert Welsford 
Professor J H Wigmore 
The Rt Hon Lord Wilberforce 
Professor S Williston 
The Rt Hon Sir Victor Windeyer KBE, CB, DSO
Professor Sir Percy Winfield QC, FBA
The Rt Hon Lord Wright GCMG, FBA

Site Search