SLS Logo

The Executive

The Executive Committee has the power to manage the affairs of the Society. It enjoys the power to direct or approve expenditure of the Society's funds. The Executive may also provide for such committees as it may from time to time deem useful. The Executive is accountable to the Council for all its activities and actions.

Elected Members of the Executive Committee

Rule 19 (g) makes provision for elections to the Executive and reads as follows:

'nine members of the Society of whom three shall be 'recent' members of the Society (being members of recent professional standing who, at the date of their election, have fewer than eight years membership), such persons to be appointed by the Council to the Executive Committee to serve for no more than three years. Once appointed to serve for a three year term and re-elected for a further three year term, a member shall not be eligible for re-appointment until one year after expiry of such term. In appointing such nine members as set out in sub-paragraph (g) above, Council shall, so far as practicable, procure a reasonable balance in such appointments, taking account of factors such as gender, ethnicity, regional representation, type of institution and subject section representation.Notices of all motions, including the names of proposers and seconders, shall reach the Honorary Secretary at least fourteen days before the day fixed for holding the meeting.'

The current membership of the Executive is:

Officers of the Society & Other Ex Officio Members of Exec

President Professor Andrew Burrows, Oxford
Vice-President Professor Imelda Maher, University College, Dublin
Vice President-Elect Professor Peter Allridge, QMUL
Immediate Past President Professor Jenny Steele, York
Honorary Secretary Professor Richard Taylor, UCLAN
Honorary Treasurer Professor Lucy Vickers, Oxford Brookes
Honorary Membership Secretary Professor Anthony Bradney, Keele
Convenor for Scotland Professor Colin Reid, Dundee
Convenor for Ireland Dr Caoimhin MacMaolain, TCD
Secretary of the Subject Sections Ms Annette Morris, Cardiff
Editors of Legal Studies Profs B Clarke, F de Londras, I Maher & C Scott
Editor of The Reporter Professor Catharine MacMillan, Reading
Chair of Legal Education Sub-Cmte Professor Fiona Cownie, Keele
Society's Webmaster Mr Richard A. Edwards, Exeter

Ordinary Members of Exec

Appointment Period
2013-2016 Dr Bruce Wardhaugh, Manchester University
2013-2016 Navraj Singh Ghaleigh, Edinburgh
2013-2016 Professor Thom Brooks, Durham University
2014-2017 Professor Rosemary Auchmuty, Reading University
2014-2017 Professor Duncan Sheehan, University of Leeds
2014-2017 Mr James Lee, Kings College, London
2015 -2018 Professor David Feldman, Cambridge University
2015 - 2018 Professor Maria Lee, UCL
2015 -2018 Ms Nicola Wake, Northumbria University

The rules about appointment of such Ordinary members to the Executive are as in Rule 19 of the Society’s rules.  Each appointment is for three years, with three members (with only one being a recent member – defined as having less than eight years standing) standing down each year in rotation. The appointments in general should take account of gender, ethnicity, regional representation, type of institution and subject section representation.  Professor Bell has been nominated to serve a second term.

Site Search