SLS Logo


The Council may elect to be an Emeritus Member of the Society in recognition of services rendered to legal education any person who has been a member of the Society and who has ceased to be engaged in law teaching and/or legal scholarship. See further Rule 7 of Soceity's Rules. The current emeriti are:

Professor J A Andrews CBE
Mr Paul Baker QC
Professor CJ Barton
Professor HK Bevan JP
Professor John Birds
Professor P M Bromley
Professor L Neville Brown OBE
Professor Richard Card
Professor WR Cornish FBA
Dr SM Cretney QC FBA
Professor Tony Dugdale
Professor Gabrielle Ganz
Professor Sir Roy M Goode QC CBE FBA
Professor Carol Harlow QC FBA
Professor Brian Harvey
Professor Mary Hayes
The Hon. Justice D J Hayton
Professor Gareth Jones QC FBA
Professor Sir Elihu Lauterpacht QC CBE
Professor L H Leigh
Professor Alexander McCall-Smith
Professor David Carey Millar FRSE
Professor JG Miller
Professor SFC Milsom FBA
Professor Sir Peter North CBE QC FBA
Professor E Orucu
Professor P H Pettit
Professor Alan Prichard
Professor J S Read
Professor L A Sheridan
Professor P G Stein QC FBA
Professor JM Thomson
Professor Michael Zander QC FBA

Site Search